Numerous options are available for families who desire to adoption a child but do not have sufficient resources to cover all associated costs.

Organizations for Adoption Financial Assistance

Name Description Information
Love Made Visible Adoption Fund Mosaic Church has an adoption fund through Lifesong for Orphans. $1000-$4000 grants and interest free loans. http://lovemadevisible.com/adoption-fund/
Elijah’s Truth Provide financial assistance to families who desire to adopt but demonstrate a financial need. www.elijahstruth.com/
His Kids Too! Grants of $2,000 for Christian families adopting internationally. www.hiskidstoo.org/ or call 850-529-5437
Gift of Adoption Fund Grants for adoption completion $2,000 to $5,000 www.giftofadoption.org or call 877.905.2367
Abba Fund Interest free loans www.abbafund.org or call 888.775.3422 orjulie@abbafund.org
The Lydia Fund Grants for overseas fees and expenses (Christian married couples only) www.lydiafund.org or call 612.338.7653 ext. 345
A Child Waits Foundation Low cost loans for adoption completion – maximum of $10,000 www.achildwaits.org or call 866.999.2445
Sparrow Fund For medical expenses related to the review of child’s referral information. www.sparrow-fund.org/
Cadman Foundation Fundraising and grants (Christian married couples only) www.cadmanfoundation.org or call 877.223.6268
Caroline’s Promise Married Christian couples in NC www.carolinespromise4u.org or call 336.993.9046
A Child’s Desire Grants for special needs and over age 8 www.achildsdesire.org or call 318.354.1229
Ava’s Hope Married couples adopting internationally www.avashope.org
Founding Family Grants for domestic & international adoptions www.foundingfamily.org or call 615.620.4372
One Chance Foundation Grants for families seeking to adopt www.karenkingsbury.com/one-chance-foundation
God’s Grace Adoption Ministry Grants for Christian married couples earning less than $60,000 www.ggam.org
Room for One More Child Adoption grants- application available on their website www.roomforonemorechild.org/
Affording Adoption Grants- online application available www.affordingadoption.com/
Christian Advocates for Adoption Help with raising funds for adoption from friends and family www.cafadopt.org
Lifesong for Orphans Matching grants and loans for Christian families www.lifesongfororphans.org
Show Hope Grants for Christian families only www.showhope.org or call 615.550.5600
Shepherd’s Crook Ministries Fundraising assistance to families adopting waiting child www.theshepherdscrook.org
Seas of Faces Foundation Grants to Christian married family adopting from developing country www.seaoffaces.org
Resources4Adoption Compilation of the most up to date financial resources for adoption http://resources4adoption.com/

 

Military Family Reimbursement 

Public law 102-190 effective December 5, 1991, established a permanent adoption reimbursement program for active duty members of the military services. An active duty member of the military services who incurs expenses for the adoption of a child under age 18 may be reimbursed up to $2,000 per child for qualifying expenses. Couples where both spouses are members of a military service may not receive reimbursement under the program totaling more than $5,000 in any calendar year.

Read more: http://www.nmfa.org/site/PageServer?pagename=reus_adoptionintro

Adoption Tax Credit

A significant federal adoption tax credit may be available for many families; however families should consult a tax professional for details regarding this alternative. For specific information on this tax credit, contact the Internal Revenue Service at www.irs.ustreas.gov or 1-800-829-3676. IRS publications 8839 Instructions and Form 8839 – Qualified Adoption Expenses, are downloadable by clicking on the underlined words.

Employer Assistance

Many employers help employees adopt children by offering benefits from referral help and extended leaves to cash payments that range from $1,000 to $10,000 or paid leave. For more information, contact your employer.